SO Happy.


Hi my loves! I know its been a minute since Ive written anything, but I’ve been SO busy! This is my last semester of college and I’m trying to squeeze in everything I’ve wanted to do! I’m holding a position in my sorority and that takes up a lot of my time, and I have been really fortunate to start an internship! My major doesn’t require me to have an internship, and I never really thought about it until my professor sent us an email he received from a local facility that works with people with all sorts of disabilities. I got an interview with the head of the program, and now I am interning in an integrated classroom for children with and without autism. Theres a special education teacher, teachers aides, preschool teacher, occupational therapist, and speech therapist who interact with the kids as well.

At first I was really nervous and didn’t know what the heck I was doing. After just two days of spending the morning with these kids, I am 500% positive this is what I want to do with my life. You know you’ve found your dream job when you would spend all day everyday there, even if you weren’t getting paid for it. I am so passionate about this job and spending time with these kids and watching the progress they make is SO fulfilling for me. I cant tell you how much joy they bring into my life and the feeling I get when they start learning “appropriate” behaviors, etc.

The other day, I REALLY bonded with one little boy, he’s about 4 years old. It made my entire DAY to know that for him, playing with me was a reinforcement for his good behavior. That just warmed my heart. I’ve had jobs before that were just for money, but once you find a career you want that you can honestly say you want to spend your life doing, that is SUCH an amazing feeling. I would LOVE going to work everyday and I can’t wait to spend the next few months with these children.

I graduate from college in May, and I had plans to move to Wilmington, NC with a few of my sorority sisters in August. Now that I’ve figured out that this is what I want to do for a career, I decided to do some research and see what they have to offer in Wilmington. I found pretty much… nothing. It kind of threw a wrench in my plans but I’m not willing to move someplace that isn’t going to allow me to do what I love, you know? So, my girls and I are doing some research about where we could potentially move – I’ve always had an interest in Atlanta, so I think that’ll be my next place I look into.

Autism is on the rise and I cannot wait to help preschoolers πŸ™‚ I feel SO blessed to have this internship, because it pointed me in the direction of how I’m planning to spend the rest of my life. I’m just so thankful & excited to graduate and do this every day! πŸ™‚

One comment

Have a comment or question ? Leave a reply !

